top of page

A Simple Guide to Feeling Super Empowered as A Woman

This is probably one of the most important topics I can write about. Women's empowerment leads to community development, gender equality and personal growth. It's HUGE.


Now, look. The entire definition of women's empowerment is kind of vague, so let me put it this way: it means that women have the confidence to move forward, thrive in their communities and work toward gender equality. If you're a self-identifying woman, that means you.


Without empowerment, we're meek little objects that don't feel fulfilled in life. Maybe that's how you feel now: lost and confused. That's why women's empowerment is important: it gives you purpose and the confidence you need to make a difference.


It could be that you feel powerless at work. Or, you could be dealing with a whole new body after puberty or after a major surgery.


Either way, you deserve to feel whole and ready to take on the world.

Here's how.


Find Your Personal Definition of Womanhood


Everyone has their own definition of what makes them a woman, and it varies wildly. I'm not talking about what's between your legs, I'm talking about things you do that make you say "Man, I feel like a woman!" (please tell me you get that reference).



Let's use me as an example. I feel most like a powerful woman when I'm dressed to the nines and I'm talking to a group of people. I feel good when I'm well-dressed and when I get to speak about something I'm passionate about.


Then, make a list of what you've accomplished.


It could look like this:

  • I renovated my entire backyard by myself.

  • I'm learning a whole new language

  • I picked myself back up after a bad relationship

  • I lost 50 pounds and did it all in a healthy way



Even the most mundane things, add them to your list. Then, marvel at the fact that you did all of that.


The entire goal of this exercise is for you to realize that you're capable of doing amazing things, and even in your darkest moments, you came out on top.


Appreciate Your Body to Feel Empowered


Sorry girl, but you're hot. It's normal to have bits of yourself that you're insecure about.


However, society wants you to feel bad about yourself. It's how they make money and feel better about themselves.


Think about it.


An insecure woman will buy a crap ton of products to get rid of her stretch marks. An insecure woman will stay silent and let people walk all over her. Do you really want that for yourself? Of course not!



I wrote an entire article about how to overcome your biggest insecurities. You want to know what most women hated about themselves? Their weight. According to them, they're either too big or too small. Says who, though?


This is one of the hardest things you can do as a woman, in a world where being insecure is the norm. Here's what you can do to work on loving those bits of yourself:


Look in the mirror every single day.


Yup. It might be the last thing you want to do, but stare at yourself! Your brain will normalize every bit of yourself that you hate, and eventually, it will feel like a part of you. If you hate your nose, stare at it and appreciate how unique it is.


Find the silver lining in your insecurity.


Let's say you hate your cellulite. What's the advantage of having that?


Your brain will probably go into overdrive trying to do the opposite of what it's been doing! However, you'll eventually find one good thing about what you hate. For instance, cellulite is literally fat storage. It's food for your body in case your blood sugar drops. Aww, your body is so considerate!


Look at Who You're Surrounding Yourself With


I hate to break it to you, but sometimes you have friends that really suck the life out of you. Similarly, you might have to work harder to feel empowered when the people around you aren't.


It might be worth looking into how your friends and family affect your journey to empowerment.


Surround yourself with women who are empowered.



Do you ever just look at someone and go "Wow" at how confident she is? She didn't get where she is today without hard work. Becoming empowered is a long journey, so having someone who has been there before can be helpful when you're going through it yourself!


Women who are empowered don't feel the need to tear others down. That means that she'll be your hype-woman and show you how to hype yourself up too!


Don't be afraid to befriend those women and learn new lessons!


Ditch the downers.


Sadly, I know you probably have friends that bring out the worst in you. When you're with them, you feel super insecure and badmouth other people.


I've had friends like that. It's a total energy shift, being with people like that.


Now, you don't have to cut off contact with them completely, but be mindful that spending a lot of time with them hinders your progress of becoming empowered. If they're really toxic, however, now's the time to end the friendship.


Grab a Book and Educate Yourself


I totally sound like a freshman art student, but hear me out: the history of womankind is not as accessible as you might think.


There are waves of feminism, each with a different goal in mind. The people that came before us fought really hard for the rights we have today. They are the definition of empowered.



Read anything that will inspire you.


I'm a bit of a weirdo, so I like Simone de Beauvoir's The Second Sex (it resonated with me and what I've experienced). Sorry, I forgot to put on a black turtleneck and a beret (my philosophy class uniform, duh). I loved my feminism class, and we studied that book!


Even if it's not a famous author, go online and look up feminist essays and stories that women write about their experiences. See yourself in them.


Demolish the incels in debates. Not literally, but with your newfound knowledge.


Now, make it your goal to empower other women.


It's like a domino effect: a wave of positivity and confidence will absolutely cause a revolution and a new generation of confident women. Our daughters and granddaughters will live in a world where they don't have to work as hard to gain confidence and accomplish their goals!


A small compliment to someone, like "I loved your presentation!", can be their catalyst to do something amazing.



A Final Thought on Becoming Empowered


It's going to be hard, but the end result is so worth it. You might lose some people along the way, but it'll be okay if it means that you can truly blossom into the confident woman that you were meant to be.


You owe it to yourself to be the truest version of yourself that you can be.

2020 has been one heck of a year so far. Make it one that kickstarts your journey to empowerment.


Tell me what empowers you in the comments.


Peace out!

126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page